Videos CG2016

Keynote lecture:  Aja Huang on AlphaGo  ;  Questions

Session 1:  Tobias Graf  ;  Richard Lorentz  ;  Todd Neller

Session 2:  John Tromp  ;  Matthieu Walraet

Session 3:  Kazuto Oka  ;  Xiaoheng Bi  ;  Michimasa Inaba

Session 4:  Takahisa Imagawa   ;   Ahmad Mazyad  ;  Marie-Liesse Cauwet

Session 5:  Michael Hartisch  ;  Raphael Thiele

Session 6:  Bas van Opheusden  ;  Francois Bonnet

Session 7:  Jos Uiterwijk  ;  Kenny Young  ;  Ingo Althofer

Session 8:  Cameron Browne  ;  Stephan Schiffel

Session 9 (workshop):  Peter Jin  ;  Hung Guei

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment



 Leiden University, Leiden, the Netherlands

29 June/1 July 2016


Program is here.

KEYNOTE on WEDNESDAY 29 JUNE, 14:00-15:00, Gorlaeus Room 1:

Aja Huang, Google Deepmind

Video available: Aja Huang on AlphaGo, Leiden, June 29, 2016

AlphaGo: Combining Deep Neural Networks with Tree Search


In this talk we will present the source of power of AlphaGo. In AlphaGo, we use ‘value networks’ to evaluate board positions and ‘policy networks’ to select moves. These deep neural networks are trained by a novel combination of supervised learning from human expert games, and reinforcement learning from games of self-play. Without any lookahead search, the neural networks play Go at the level of state-of-the-art Monte Carlo tree search programs that simulate thousands of random games of self-play. We also introduce a new search algorithm that combines Monte Carlo simulation with value and policy networks. Using this search algorithm, our program AlphaGo achieved a 99.8% winning rate against other Go programs, and defeated the human European Go champion by 5 games to 0. In March 2016 AlphaGo defeated Lee Sedol, the strongest human Go player in the last decade.


Special Workshop on Neural Networks in Games

The ninth conference on Computer and Games (CG2016) will be held in Leiden, the Netherlands, in conjunction with the 22th World Computer Chess Championship and the 19th Computer Olympiad. The conference commences on 29 June  at 08.30-12.30h and will take place on three consecutive days. The WCCC and the CO will take place from June 27 to July 3, also at Leiden University, the Netherlands.

The conference aims in the first place at providing an international forum for computer-games researchers presenting new results on ongoing work. The recent successes of the CG and the ACG conferences have encouraged the organizers to widen their scope and therefore we encourage contributions on virtual and video games and modern board games. So, we invite contributors to submit papers on all aspects of research related to computers and games. Relevant topics include, but are not limited to: (1) the current state of game-playing programs for classic and modern board and card games, (2) the current state of virtual, casual and video games, (3) new theoretical developments in game-related research, and (4) general scientific contributions produced by the study of games. Also researchers on topics such as (5) social aspects of computer games, (6) cognitive research of how humans play games, (7) capture and analysis of game data, and (8) issues related to networked games are invited to submit their contributions.

Important Dates

Paper Submission: February 11, 2016  Extended to March 1, 2016

Acceptance Notification: April 1, 2016

Final Papers due: May 1, 2016


Paper Submission Requirements

Papers of 8 to 10 pages are preferred. The maximum length is 12 pages. The preferred format for submission is PDF, but Word is also acceptable. The paper must be written in the English language. We expect to publish the proceedings in the Lecture Notes Series (LNCS/LNAI) format. Please follow the instructions for authors available at the Springer LNCS/LNAI Web:

Refereeing Process

The usual full refereeing process will be executed. Refereeing is single blind: as usual authors are expected to reveal their identity and refer to previous work. Papers will be refereed by members of the Program Committee. Papers will be accepted if their overall quality is acceptable and the topic suits the conference. Accepted papers will be scheduled for presentation during the conference and will be printed as conference proceedings. Authors of accepted papers, or their representatives, are expected to present their papers at the conference.

Registration Fee

  Early Late
(On or before April 15) Late (After April 15)
Participants Euro 200 Euro 250
Students Euro 150 Euro 180

Admission to the conference and a copy of conference proceedings are included in the conference registration fee.


The editing and processing of the contributions to the proceedings will be performed by Aske Plaat, Jaap van den Herik, and Walter Kosters. The proceedings will be published in 2016 (Post-proceedings). During the conference participants can order (additional) copies.

The Chairs of the Program Committee 

Aske Plaat, Jaap van den Herik, Walter Kosters

Program Committee

Victor Allis

Ingo Althöfer

Petr Baudis

Darse Billings

Yngvi Björnsson

Bruno Bouzy

Ivan Bratko

Cameron Browne

Murray Campbell

Tristan Cazenave

Bo-Nian Chen

Jr-Chang Chen

Paolo Ciancarini

Rémi Coulom

Omid David

Jeroen Donkers

David Fotland

Johannes Fuernkranz

James Glenn

Michael Greenspan

Reijer Grimbergen

Matej Guid

Dap Hartmann

Tsuyoshi Hashimoto

Guy Haworth

Ryan Hayward

Huang Hong

Shun-Chin Hsu

Tsan-Sheng Hsu

Han-Shen Huang

Robert Hyatt

Hiroyuki Iida

Tomoyuki Kaneko

Graham Kendall

Akihiro Kishimoto

Yoshiyuki Kotani

Clyde Kruskal

Hans Kuijf

Richard Lorentz

Ulf Lorenz

Shaul Markovitch

Hitoshi Matsubara

John-Jules Meyer

Martin Mueller

Todd Neller

Nathan S. Netanyahu

Pim Nijssen

Jakub Pawlewicz

Jacques Pitrat

Christian Posthoff

Matthias Rauterberg

Hendrik Baier

Timo Ewalds

Aleksander Sadikov

Salcedo-Sanz Sancho

Maarten Schadd

Richard Segal

Yaron Shoham

David Silver

Pieter Spronck

Nathan Sturtevant

Takuya Sugiyama

Tetsuro Tanaka

Gerald Tesauro

Olivier Teytaud

Yoshimasa Tsuruoka

Jos Uiterwijk

Erik van der Werf

Peter van Emde Boas

Jan van Zanten

Gert Vriend

Hans Weigand

Mark Winands

Thomas Wolf

I-Chen Wu

Xinhe Xu

Georgios Yannakakis

Shi-Jim Yen

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment